America eavesdropping on its own citizens? Well I never…!

Posted by irresponsibility

If only I could muster the teeniest, tiniest little iota of surprise at the news that the NSA (or National inSecurity Agency, as I like to think of it) has been spying on American citizens for… well, no real reason at all.

As quoted in the excellent and informative The Zoo: “hundreds of US citizens overseas have been eavesdropped on as they called friends and family back home.” This adds a retrospective frisson to the many rambling, bitterly anti-Bush/anti-war conversations held between me, in my South London bolthole, and my activist mum back in Oregon. She once said, not entirely jokingly, “be careful what you say. I think I have an FBI file.” Mother knows best…


Leave a Reply

