Sarah Palin: no passport, no problem – foreign travel only for the spoilt rich, apparently

Posted by irresponsibility

I was midway through my best shot at a reasoned analysis of the latest economic fun and games when The Daily Show’s Moment of Zen set me shouting at the TV.

It was a clip of one of Katie Couric’s interviews with vice presidential candidate Sarah Palin where – in response to Couric asking if Palin not getting a passport until last year “indicated a lack of interest and curiosity” the wanna-be veep simpers: “I’m not one of those… kids who graduate college and their parents give them a passport and give them a backpack and say go off and travel the world. No, I’ve worked all my life. In fact, I usually had two jobs…. I was not a part of… that culture.

The snide, nasty, reverse snobbery of her reply makes me want to climb into the television set and shout at her till that smug mask of perky pancake make-up cracks. What she’s really saying is the only people who are informed/educated/well-travelled are a mythical class of (elite, rich, privileged) people who are, in her words, given a passport and told to go see the world. Out-of-touch freeloaders, kicking up their heels in the South of France, or wherever, while nice girls like Sarah are working at the drive-in.

I have two words for you, ma’am: fuck off.

People do, in this life, what they want to do. What they find they must.

I travel. I live abroad. I speak a second language. I give a shit about what happens in the world. So according to her world-view I must be one of those spoilt rich kids….

Except that I worked three jobs to pay for my first stint in Britain. And I slept on a friend’s futon above a chip shop in Lewisham. And I worked in dank pubs and did a stint as a door-to-door gas company sales rep. And I moved to Spain with just a suitcase – no friends, nowhere to live, no clue. But the point is, I did it. I never, ever waited for someone to ‘give me a passport and give me a backpack’.

I always loved the world, I wanted to see the world, I wanted to push myself, so I did. There is no one else to praise or blame.

Sarah Palin clearly thinks someone else is to blame for her ignorance and indifference. She wants America to feel sorry for poor lil’ her, working in Wasilla while the pampered elite saw the world. Newsflash: if Sarah Palin spent her life behind a counter in some Podunk, arse-end of nowhere town it was HER CHOICE. No sympathy for the devil…


9 thoughts on “Sarah Palin: no passport, no problem – foreign travel only for the spoilt rich, apparently

  1. Erm, you DID go to an Ivy League uni, did you not…? 😉 You MUST be a spoiled rich kid! And you lived in Britain? Now Spain? Yup, you’re definitely one of them.

    I kid, I kid, of course. I only wish that I could do what you’ve done in living abroad — it’s always been my dream (more like desperate hope) to escape to Europe, if only to see another part of the world. Cheers!

  2. guilty as charged. if only i’d spent less time studying and more time moose-hunting and entering beauty pageants i, too, could aspire to the second-highest political office in the land 😉

  3. Pingback: oh now it’s personal, Sarah Palin

  4. you wouldn’t have much hope of beating her in the vote then would you?

    you’re just unpatriotic and she’s an All American girl. 😉

  5. Pingback: Curiosity « Cila Warncke

Leave a Reply

